Monroe (Louisiana)

Here is general information about Monroe in Louisiana

Monroe statistic

Coordinates 32°30′34″N 92°07′06″W
Country United States
State Louisiana
Parish Ouachita
Incorporated (town) 1845
Incorporated (city) 1906
Named for the steamboat James Monroe
Elevation 72 ft (22 m)
Urban area includes Monroe-West Monroe
Demonym(s) Monroeian
Time zone UTC−6 (CST)
ZIP Codes 71201, 71202, 71203, 71207, 71208, 71209, 71210, 71211, 71212, 71213
Area Code 318
FIPS code 22-51410
Website City of Monroe
Government (Mayor) Friday Ellis (I)
Government (City Council) Members List President of the Council: Doug HarveyClerk: Carolus RileyDist 1: Doug HarveyDist 2: Gretchen EzernackDist 3: Juanita G. WoodsDist 4: Carday MarshallDist 5: Kema DawsonCity Attorney: Angie Sturdivant
Government (City) 32.91 sq mi (85.23 km2)
Government (Land) 29.66 sq mi (76.80 km2)
Government (Water) 3.25 sq mi (8.42 km2)
Area (City) 32.91 sq mi (85.23 km2)
Area (Land) 29.66 sq mi (76.80 km2)
Area (Water) 3.25 sq mi (8.42 km2)
Population (2020) (City) 47,702
Population (2020) (Density) 1,608.57/sq mi (621.08/km2)
Population (2020) (Urban) 62,238
Population (2020) (Metro) 170,053

Time difference between Monroe and other cities

Other cities info:

Monroe (historically French: Poste-du-Ouachita) is the eighth-largest city in the U.S. state of Louisiana, and parish seat of Ouachita Parish. With a 2020 census-tabulated population of 47,702, it is the principal city of the Monroe metropolitan statistical area, the second-largest metropolitan area in North Louisiana. As the governor of Louisiana, Esteban Rodríguez Miró had Fort Miro built in 1791. The settlement was renamed as Monroe, during the first half of the 19th century, in recognition of the steam-powered paddle-wheeler James Monroe. The arrival of the ship had a profound effect on the settlers; it was the single event, in the minds of local residents, that transformed the outpost into a town. The ship is depicted in a mural at the main branch of the Monroe Library on North 18th Street. Credit is indirectly given to James Monroe of Virginia, the fifth President of the United States, for whom the ship was named.